2013 Galaxy Gala and Big Bang!

Posted on March 14th, 2013

Comments (0)

By: MiaSci


On March 9, 2013, nine hundred and seventy of Miami’s business, civic philanthropic and young professional leaders gathered for The Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science’s annual Galaxy Gala and Big Bang in support of the Museum’s new state of the art facility now under construction in downtown Miami’s Museum Park. The festivities took place at the JW Marriott Marquis and carried an aquatic theme inspired by the new Museum’s 500,000-gallon aquarium, which is the world’s first gulfstream tank. This year’s Galaxy Gala was co-chaired by Nancy and Jonathan Batchelor and Nicole and Edgar Lozano.

“With our new home in Museum Park now going vertical, this year’s Galaxy Gala was an opportunity for individual and corporate supporters to come together for a spectacular evening of entertainment, fine dining and dancing – all in support of what will be among the world’s most innovative and educational museums,” said Gala co-chair Nancy Batchelor.

Hosted by WPLG Channel 10 reporter Christina Boomer Vazquez, the program included several award presentations to honor key supporters of the Museum including: The Philanthropic Gift to Museum Chairs Trish and Dan Bell; Commemorative Hard Hats to naming donors, Patricia and Phillip Frost; Honorary Chair Award to long time donors The Batchelor Foundation; Gala Co-Chairs Awards to Nancy and Jonathan Batchelor and Nicole and Edgar Lozano; The Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science Award to supporters, Ruth and Jack Admire; and the Vanguard Award to corporate partner, Wells Fargo.

Among Gala attendees were Miami-Dade County Mayor Carlos Gimenez, City of Miami Mayor Tomas Regalado, Miami-Dade County Public Schools Superintendent Alberto Carvahlo, Miami-Dade County School Board Member Raquel Regalado, University of Miami President Donna Shalala, and Miami-Dade College President Eduardo Padron.

Hosted by Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science’s Young Patrons group and under the leadership of Co-chairs Izzy Havenick and Alexis Rivera the BIG BANG party took place right after the Galaxy Gala.  Miami’s movers and shakers danced the night away from 10 pm until the early hours of the morning. Sponsored by Magic City Casino and the Downtown Development Authority, the party transformed into a darker, nightlife inspired event with DJs Mark Leventhal and Lauren Reskin, special performances by musical group Hola Hi, hors d’oeuvers, an open cocktail bar sponsored by Bacardi, and desserts sponsored by Misha’s cupcakes and Donut Divas.

Dollars raised at the Gala and Big Bang complemented the more than $200 million that has been assembled from public and private sources for the construction of the Museum’s new building. The 250,000 square foot structure, designed by internationally recognized Grimshaw Architects, is fast rising in Museum Park along Biscayne Bay since its February 2012 groundbreaking. Once complete, the Museum will feature a lushly landscaped indoor and outdoor “living core” of terrestrial and aquatic spaces, a full dome planetarium, interactive exhibits, innovative technology and two additional wings of exhibition space, a green roof with hydroponics and the Knight Learning Center.

Miami-Dade County Mayor Carlos Gimenez and MSM President and CEO Gillian Thomas

MSM Board Co-Chair Dan Bell, Patricia Frost, MSM Board Co-Chair Trish Bell, Dr. Phillip Frost

Gala Co-Chairs Nancy and Jon Batchelor, Nicole and Edgar Lozano

Mike Dee (Miami Dolphins) and wife Karen Dee, Phillis Oeters and George Foyo (Baptist Health South Florida), Phil and Susan Conway (JP Morgan Chase)

Don and Jeanette Slesnick, Dr. Eduardo Padron and Guest, Lourdes and Mayor Carlos Gimenez

Alexis Rivera Havinick, MSM VP of Communications Tony Lima, MSM Board Member Izzy Havanick, Barbara Havenick

Pam Garrison, Donna Shalala, MSM Board Member Swanee DiMare, Dr. Phillip Frost, MSM President and CEO Gillian Thomas, Cesar Alvarez, Patricia Frost, Raquel Regalado, City of Miami Mayor Tomas Regalado

Tim and Jenny Bielawski, Alexis Rivera Havinick, MSM Board Member Izzy Havanick, Barbara Havenick, and Michael Havenick

MSM President and CEO Gillian Tomas, and Mistress of Ceremonies Christina Boomer Vasquez

Anne Owen, Luis Rigual

Jane Gilbert and Frank Newman III

Leave a Reply